Archive for May 8th, 2010

08
May
10

CONGRATZ TO ALL GRADS!

Congrats to all graduates this year whether you are a high school graduate, finally graduating from college, or finally getting that damn masters! LOL! May/June is always a great part of the year where we get to celebrate accomplishments and all of the hell and hot water one has to go through to simply put on that cap and gown. There’s also the gratification of flipping the middle finger to all who said you couldn’t do it couldn’t do it or that b**** a** professor who wanted to fail you so bad but had no evidence to do so (that’s the best part!). InĀ  addition, the weather’s great and it’s an excuse to get totally #SMACKED! LMAO! Here’s to all of the 2010 graduates! Especially the ones from my alma mater, the great BENEDICT COLLEGE!

Sidenote: This has really got me amped for my graduation in September. Masters degree here I come!

08
May
10

DIDN’T CICI LEARN THE LAST TIME?

It’s seems as if ‘Fantasy Ride’ is happening all over again! Ciara’s new material created with The Dream and Tricky Stewart is continuously leaking. SMH! Clearly I thought her and LaFace/Jive would have learned from the Fantasy Ride scandal. I think about 1/2 of the world had that album about a year before it was officially released. Anywho, check out the new tracks leaked earlier this week, “I Run It” and “This Is What Love Is” below:

I RUN IT

THIS IS WHAT LOVE IS

I definitely prefer the “I Run It’ track over “That What Love Is”. The background vocals on “I Run It” are wonderful. I am a sucker for melodic background vocals (a trend that Brandy started in R&B whether people wanna give her credit or not). However, I pray that these tracks are just trash bin tracks and she’s really gonna serve the business on the new album. I mean, the tracks posted above aren’t bad, but they just don’t make me excited for the new album. I’ll admit, before the “Ride” single and video dropped, I wasn’t even checking for a new Ciara project. I personally never find consistency when it comes to Ciara albums. If anything, I always manage to find AT MOST a handful of tracks that I can fux with. Here’s hoping that this is not a representation of the album!

08
May
10

KATY BRINGIN’ HEAT?

Back after 2 years since her debut pop album, One of the Boys (2008) dropped, Katy Perry is gearing up for the summer release of her as-yet-untitled second pop album. This new track in the form of the Snoop assisted and Dr. Luke-produced, “California Gurls” surfaced on yesterday. Check it out after the jump!

Lemme find out Katy been in the studio kookin’ up that pop krack for the 2010! This song goes kinda hard (in a pop-summery kinda way). It’s nothing one should bump going thru the hood by any means, but the SLAP BASS of the song and summer vibe really gives the song a great energy. I am a bit indifferent about the Snoop feature, but that’s neither here nor there. I definitely see this as one of THE songs of SUMMER 2010! I’ve always thought Katy Perry was BEAST vocally, since listening to her One of the Boys record thoroughly about 1.5 years ago. Her Unplugged album/EP is kinda nice too. Definitely looking forward hearing what her new album is gonna serve up!

08
May
10

Will the real singers stand up please?

Christina Aguilera performed her recent single, “Not Myself Tonight” for the first time ever on Oprah this week. Check out the vid:

Despite very few vocal mess-ups, home-girl really sang and performed that! And it was LIVE! No backing track needed: OLD SCHOOL STYLE! When reading comments on other sites where this performance is posted, people are killing me saying that the performance was boring (you have a right to your opinion) but what did you expect from Christina? During her 10 year career, she’s never been the big “choregographed, dance break down” type artist, so I didn’t expect that. GREAT PERFORMANCE!

Sidebar: Oprah is always promoting album track numbers (for instance: “Cut #2″) LMAO!

08
May
10

For those who counted her out, eat your face!

Despite the recent media backlash of Nip’s recent ‘Nothin’ But Love’ world tour, she is pressing on with her shows, making recent stop in Italy. She performed in both Milan and Rome. Check out the ‘I Look To You’ Rome performance from May 3 below:

This performance clearly indicates that Whitney is working that voice and putting those damn Newports down! Her head voice soars and her runs are clean and controlled. Everyone that knows me, knows that my favorite female artist of all-time is Whitney Houston, so it really does my heart good to see this performance. But where’s the media when she has good performances like this? Right, NO WHERE TO BE FOUND! That’s okay though….they make you to break you and clearly we thought Whitney was gonna perish like the rest of ’em. Just goes to show you that it ain’t over ’til God says otherwise! Now all I need for her to do is get those chops ready for that U.S. leg! I want tickets for graduation!